My Brief Summer Fling With Wildstar

All in all I like Wildstar. It has a nice combat system, the double jumps are awesome, all my characters look really cool and there’s that nice sort of “Firefly feeling” to it.

Mi_stalk_lvl1_02MordeshIntimacy
The quest system is one of the things I like the best. You get to use a comunicator to turn in quests and get followup quests while you are out and about. And if you have a hard time finding the things you are looking for, you can get an arrow to show you where to go and how far away it is. So questing has a nice flow to it.

WhereImGoingI also love the concept of paths. It’s something I hope to see in more games in the future. It gives an extra dimension to the character based on what you like to do as a player. The settler path was a clear choice for me. But I’ve also had fun exploring on one of my characters and killing stuff together with the hubby’s soldier.

Wildstar_CuriosityThere are some nice zones, interesting stories and cool creatures to experience. I really enjoyed helping out Elderoot in Everstar Grove…all up to the last part of the quest. Don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t done it, but it’s a sad panda moment.

ElderrootAnd there’s this huge nature-troll-ish mobs you encounter while questing in Celestion, I really liked them. Especially the part where you get to ride on the back of one of them.

TrollDudeGoodGoing02But even though I like the game and feel exited thinking back of my time spent playing it, I have not managed to get past level 10 on any of my characters; mainly because I get over stimulated by the game. There are just so many things happening all at once; flashing graphics and lots of sounds.

But if you don’t mind that part I think it’s a great leveling experience. And it’s fun to play both solo and with friends.

This entry was posted in Mixed Games and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Brief Summer Fling With Wildstar

  1. Laeleiweyn says:

    My max toon is/was 14. I feel bad saying this, but I would love all that content as a WoW-expansion instead of a new game. I feel bad about saying that, cause I -want- the game to succeed! It’s really cool and sweet and have neat ideas. My problems with it are
    1) I think I only have room in me for one MMO. I prefer my other games to be short and/or sweet and/or on consol and/or on phone.
    2) I can’t deal with the graphics. To me it seems everything disappears too much into the background. Can’t really explain it better, sorry.
    3) The first month after launch, I haven’t been physically able to sit down and play it, which ofc doesn’t help at all. xD
    At least I have bought it, and I really really hope it survives, so that the people looking for this kind of game has a choice, and also so that the other MMO’s have another contributer to the idea-mix. :)

    • Lorelei says:

      I do play other MMOs, atm I have 3 in the mix (2 with subs and one F2P). Had I enjoyed Wildstar more I would have probably dumped one of the other MMOs with subs.

      But yeah, I bought it and I subed for a month. So just like you I really do hope it survives as well. :)

Leave a Reply

