Hearthstone: Curse of Naxxramas, Week 1

Curse of Naxxramas is the first PvE adventure for Hearthstone. It was launched last week with the opening of the first wing of Naxxramas. All in all there are five wings. The next one opens tomorrow and will be followed by a new wing opening each week. Each wing has special class challenges where you will get a speciall class card.

The first wing has three bosses: Anub’Rekhan, Grand Widow Faerlina and Maexxna. Once you clear them all on normal you can do them on heroic. At heroic they all have more health and their special abilities are more powerful. Some are easier to work around than others. And keep in mind, you do not have to do them in order on heroic.

ArachnidQuarter
Grand Widow Faerlina’s speciall ability, for example, does damage based on the amount of cards in your hand. So as long as you keep the amount of cards you hold on to low, she will not do so much damage with her special ability.

From what I have gathered Maexxna Heroic is the fight people are finding the most challenging. Her special ability does make it hard to play against her in a conventional way. At the start of her round she will remove two of your minions from the board and place them back in your hand. This will remove all buffs made to the minions.

Maexxna1
I found it best to use her special power to my own advantage, so I focused on a spell-heavy mage deck with many minions who have Battlecry. I used the minions more like spells. As long as you only summon two minions each round you will get both of them back at the start of her round. Just make sure you don’t get too many cards on your hand!

For me the biggest challenge has been Anub’Rekhan Heroic. I cleared everything but him the first night. Today I finally managed to get him down with a priest deck I had been tweaking back and forth all day. It felt great!

AnubRekan
The class challenges this first week was druid and rogue. I found them very easy, and slightly strange. You get a premade deck to play with against one of the bossses on normal. And if you win you unlock a special class card for that class. The rogue fight was very odd to me, as it did not feel like a rogue deck at all. But it was nice to get to play around with some of the new cards. There was Echoing Ooze all over the board!

RogueChallenge
My overall impression of this first wing was good. Sure, it was short to play through. But it was entertaining. So I have gone ahead and unlocked the rest of Naxx. Now I’m waiting with excitement for the next wing to open!

Got_Naxx

This entry was posted in Hearthstone and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hearthstone: Curse of Naxxramas, Week 1

  1. Navimie says:

    I too had trouble with Maexxna – but I got it with a hunter deck but I’ve been trying to do it with a priest deck (though not very successfully). I can’t wait for the next wing!

Leave a Reply

